Korzhenevskiy K.B.



The article deals with the issues of the delimitation of the Omsk uyezd between Omsk and Akmolinsk governorates in 1921–1922. Based on recently introduced archival documents, the author carried out a detailed analysis of the process of establishing the national-state border between the Siberian territory of the RSFSR and the Kazakh (Kyrgyz) Republic. It is noted that the border formation took place in a challenging political and economic situation. The fate of Omsk, the governorate centre, and the uyezd population depended on how the division of the disputed Omsk uyezd was to be carried out. It is stressed that when establishing the boundaries between the Kazakh autonomy and Siberia, not only political, economic and geographical factors but also the will of citizens were taken into account. At the same time, emphasis is placed on the national policy of Soviet authorities that gave autonomy to many nations, including the Kazakhs. The article focuses on the controversial relationships between Sibrevkom, the Kazakh Central Executive Com-mittee, Moscow, and the provincial authorities on the issues of delimitation. Details are provided on the work of a special commission established to define the boundaries in Omsk uyezd. The commission was composed of repre-sentatives of the Kazakh Republic and the Siberian Revolutionary Committee. It was found that the most acute problem of disagreement and lengthy debates was the territorial allegiance of Isilkul railway station and of stanitsa (village) Cherlakskaya. It is concluded that Omsk uyezd delimitation was finished in May 1922 with its final division between Siberia and Kazakhstan. Meanwhile the decisive factor in this matter was the opinion of the Centre more inclined in favour of the Kazakh ASSR.

About the autors:

Konstantin Bronislavovich Korzhenevskiy, graduate student, assistant at the Department of Russian History

Place of employment:

Nizhnevartovsk State University


e-mail: K0nstantin_Lg@mail.ru

Key words:

delimitation; Siberia; Kirgyz ASSR; Omsk uyezd; Isilkul; Сherlak; Sibrevkom; Kyrgyz CEC